The U.S. federal government has empowered states with the rights to protect their forests through laws, regulations, and programs. This flexibility leads to a vast array of differing laws and oversight agencies found from state to state. However complex, there are at least seven uniform programs and policies found across all states and territories that provide a broad view of state forest sustainability.

This information for each state, relevant to timber assurance, can be accessed by clicking on the map below. This will open hyperlinks to the seven programs, policies, and reports described at the bottom of this page.

Northeast-Midwest Region

South Region

West Region

Alabama AL Alaska AK Arizona AZ Arkansas AR California CA Colorado CO Connecticut CT Delaware DE District of Columbia DC Florida FL Georgia GA Hawaii HI Idaho ID Illinois IL Indiana IN Iowa IA Kansas KS Kentucky KY Louisiana LA Maine ME Maryland MD Massachusetts MA Michigan MI Minnesota MN Mississippi MS Missouri MO Montana MT Nebraska NE Nevada NV New Hampshire NH New Jersey NJ New Mexico NM New York NY North Carolina NC North Dakota ND Ohio OH Oklahoma OK Oregon OR Pennsylvania PA Rhode Island RI South Carolina SC South Dakota SD Tennessee TN Texas TX Utah UT Vermont VT Virginia VA Washington WA West Virginia WV Wisconsin WI Wyoming WY

State Programs, Policies, and Reports

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.