NASF Foundation

NASF Foundation flyerThe National Association of State Foresters Foundation (NASFF) is a non-profit 501(c)3 organization that was established in 1983 by state foresters to promote and advance state and private forestry in the United States. The foundation supports educational initiatives that foster and recognize state forestry agency leadership in promoting healthy, well-managed forests, including:

James Hubbard Internship for Policy and Communications

Since 1999, the NASF Foundation has supported on-the-job experience for graduate and undergraduate students with its internship program for emerging leaders in forestry.

Executive fellowship at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government

In partnership with the USDA Forest Service, the NASF Foundation provides two senior-level state forestry agency employees with an all-expenses paid, three-week-long fellowship in strategic management and financial stewardship every year.

Photo Fellowship

Each year, the NASF Foundation awards a fellowship to a talented photographer. These fellows traverse the country, capturing photos that help tell the compelling story of state and private forestry.

NASF Foundation letterhead

Support the Foundation and Its Efforts: Donate Today

Your donation to the NASF Foundation supports educational initiatives that foster leadership for current and future members of the state forestry community. Please consider making a donation today. We recognize four levels of giving with expertly crafted lapel pins:

Level 1: $100 tree lapel pin
Level 2: $500 leaf lapel pin
Level 3: $2,500 oak leaf lapel pin
Level 4: $5,000 oak leaf with diamond lapel pin

Donate Here

Foundation Board Officers

Chair Tom Boggus, Former State Forester of Texas
Treasurer and Vice Chair of Investments Michael Buck, Former State Forester of Hawaii
Vice Chair of Audits Larry Kotchman, Former State Forester of North Dakota
Vice Chair Earl Eutsler, State Forester of the District of Columbia

Foundation Board Members

Ellen Shultzabarger, State Forester of Pennsylvania
Forrest Boe, Former State Forester of Minnesota
George Geissler, State Forester of Washington
Jason Hartman, State Forester of Kansas
Scott Phillips, State Forester of South Carolina
Tim Lowrimore, State Forester of Georgia

Foundation Members-At-Large

Christopher Martin, State Forester of Connecticut
Don VanHassent, Former State Forester of Maryland
Patty Cormier, State Forester of Maine
David Tenney, State Forester of Arizona
Kacey KC, State Forester of Nevada
Chris Maisch, Former State Forester of Alaska
Tom Claeys, State Forester of North Dakota
Al Davis, State Forester of Texas
Scott Bissette, Assistant Commissioner of the North Carolina Forest Service
Jim Karels, Former State Forester of Florida

Foundation Staff

Executive Director Katie Forman-Cook

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Accessibility Toolbar

Save the Date! NASF 2023 Annual Meeting: September 18-21 / Baton Rouge, LA