Republic of the Marshall Islands

Forest Action Plan

Island forest management priorities

The Republic of the Marshall Islands is a former U.S. Trust Territory, now a sovereign nation in a Compact of Free Association with the United States. The Marshall Islands encompass 29 atolls and 5 solitary islands, which make up approximately 1,225 individual islands and islets.

The Marshall Islands are naturally tropical forested ecosystems, mostly converted to agro-forest over the millennia since settlement by the Marshallese people. Marshallese agro-forest is a mix of trees, woody shrubs and herbaceous species, managed for food and other forest products, notably breadfruit, coconut, pandanus, and bananas. Since Western contact, many areas have been managed as coconut plantations (often with other species intercropped, a simpler form of agro-forestry) and additional species have been introduced and integrated into the agro-forest (especially fruit trees).

Republic of the Marshall Islands Forestry Publications

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Accessibility Toolbar