New officers, policies from NASF’s 2010 Annual Meeting

WASHINGTON—The National Association of State Foresters elected a new slate of officers to its governing Executive Committee and agreed on a number of national policy positions at the association’s 88th Annual Meeting last week in Orlando, Florida. Jeff Jahnke, Colorado State Forester, will head NASF as president in 2010-2011. Mr. Jahnke is the director of the Colorado State Forest Service at Colorado State University, where he leads programs in wildfire prevention and mitigation, forest management, community forestry, and conservation education.

“I look forward to leading the National Association of State Foresters in 2011, the International Year of Forests,” said Jahnke. “In the coming year, NASF will be communicating outcomes from the Statewide Forest Resource Assessments and Strategies, building momentum for forestry priorities in the 2012 Farm Bill, and continuing to advance initiatives based on our commitment to sustainability.”

Mr. Jahnke has previously served as Chairman of the NASF Forest Fire Protection committee, Chairman of the Colorado Forest Health Advisory Council, member of the National Wildland Fire Leadership Council, and Chairman of the Council of Western State Foresters.

NASF also elected John Shannon, Arkansas State Forester, as the association’s new vice president and West Virginia State Forester Randy Dye as its new treasurer. Each will serve a twelve-month term.

The association approved a number of policy positions by resolution at the meeting related to support of the National Firewood Task Force recommendations, the role of stewardship plans in the production of renewable woody biomass in planted forests, and forest biomass supply, carbon and sustainability. Resolutions are approved by consensus and represent the strongest public statement State Foresters make as an association. For more information, visit

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.