Clark Seely Assumes Presidency of the Society of American Foresters

Clark W. Seely, CF, formerly an executive of the Oregon Department of Forestry, began his term as the 2016 president of the Society of American Foresters (SAF) by calling for increased partnerships with other natural resources professionals.

“It’s an honor to be elected to lead the foresters and other natural resources professionals who are members of SAF and are building on SAF’s 115-year tradition of serving society through the stewardship of America’s forests,” says Seely. “But we can only succeed if we build on our relationships with other natural resources partners. We want to utilize the personal diversity and experiences of our members and partners to bring the best thinking and decisions to the challenges at hand.”

Seely’s commitment to the Society and the profession has been recognized repeatedly over the years and he is the recipient of several awards and honors, including SAF’s John A. Beale Memorial Award (2012), which recognizes outstanding efforts over a sustained period by an SAF member in the promotion of forestry through voluntary service to the Society. He has also received the 35-Year Award from the Oregon Department of Forestry (2009) and was named an SAF Fellow in 1996. 


Accessibility Toolbar

Join us for the 2024 NASF Annual Meeting from September 23rd-26th in Providence, RI!