State foresters pass resolutions on wood production, forest management

WASHINGTON—The National Association of State Foresters elected a new slate of officers to its governing Executive Committee and agreed on several national policy positions at the association’s 89th Annual Meeting last week in Baltimore, Maryland.

Policy positions passed by resolution include goals for enhancing the U.S. share of global wood production, enhancing collaborative landscape-scale forest management, and use of Forest Action Plans in budget allocation decisions for Cooperative Forestry Assistance Act programs. Resolutions are approved by consensus and represent the strongest public statement State Foresters make as an association.

NASF’s governing Executive Committee will be led by Arkansas State Forester John T. Shannon as president in 2011-2012. Mr. Shannon has been Arkansas’ State Forester since 1994 and is a member of the Board of the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology Commission and Chairman of the Arkansas Board of Registration for Foresters.

NASF also elected Randy Dye, West Virginia State Forester, as the association’s new vice president and Alaska State Forester Chris Maisch as its new treasurer. Each will serve a twelve-month term.

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.