State foresters elect new leadership

WASHINGTON—At their annual meeting today, the nation’s state and territorial foresters elected a new slate of officers to the National Association of State Foresters’ governing executive committee.

Christopher Martin, state forester of Connecticut, will lead NASF as president in 2022. As the forestry director for the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, Martin is responsible for the statewide delivery of technical forestry assistance on both public and private lands and wildland fire protection services.

“It is an honor and privilege to serve my colleagues as president of NASF,” Martin said. “For the last 101 years, NASF has persevered despite economic depressions and recessions, wars, shifts in government, and two pandemics. It has served, continuously, as a resilient and influential organization that advocates successfully for its membership. In 2022, we will continue our work to enhance the social, economic, and environmental benefits of trees and forests.”

Martin was named the Connecticut state forester in 2008. He has served as a member of the NASF Foundation board since 2014, and in years past, has chaired the NASF Audit and Forest Science and Health Committees. In 2012, Martin served a term as president of the Northeast-Midwest State Foresters Alliance, formally known as the Northeastern Area Association of State Foresters. Martin holds two bachelor of science degrees in forestry and wildlife management from the University of Maine, and a master’s in business administration from the University of Connecticut.

NASF Officers 2022 From left to right: Christopher Martin, Connecticut; Kacey KC, Nevada; Scott Phillips, South Carolina; Joe Fox, Arkansas

NASF also elected Kacey KC, state forester of Nevada, as the association’s new vice president and Scott Phillips, state forester of South Carolina, as its new treasurer. Joe Fox, state forester of Arkansas, will serve on the executive committee as immediate past president. Each will serve a twelve-month term.

As his first order of business, Martin appointed the following state foresters to chair NASF’s standing committees:

    Chair: Russell Bozeman, State Forester for the Mississippi Forestry Commission
    Chair: Forrest Boe, State Forester for the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources-Division of Forestry
    Chair: Rob Davies, State Forester for the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation-Division of Lands and Forests
    Chair: John Erixson, State Forester for the Nebraska Forest Service
    Chair: George Geissler, State Forester for the Washington State Department of Natural Resources

To learn more about NASF, its members, and standing committees, visit

Media Contact: Whitney Forman-Cook at

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.