State foresters elect new executive committee members

WHITEFISH, Mont.—At their annual meeting today, the nation’s state and territorial foresters elected a new slate of officers to the National Association of State Foresters’ governing executive committee.

Lisa Allen, state forester of Missouri, will lead NASF as president in 2019. As the director of the Missouri Department of Conservation’s Forestry Division, Allen is responsible for the statewide delivery of all technical and financial forestry assistance programs on both public and private lands.

“It is an honor and a privilege to serve NASF as president and I am truly humbled to lead the nation’s most dedicated and passionate natural resource professionals,” said Allen. “In the coming year, NASF will continue to advance initiatives dedicated to sustainable forest management across the nation in rural and urban communities alike.”

Allen began her career with the Missouri Department of Conservation as an assistant resource forester in 1984 and has served as forest management chief, forestry field programs supervisor, resource forester, and private lands services division chief. She holds undergraduate and graduate degrees in forestry from the University of Missouri-Columbia and has led the state’s Division of Forestry since 2006.

NASF also elected Greg Josten, state forester of South Dakota, as the association’s new vice president and Joe Fox, state forester of Arkansas, as its new treasurer. Each will serve a twelve-month term.

Media Contact: Whitney Forman-Cook at or 202-624-5417

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.