NASF elects new officers at annual meeting in San Antonio

WASHINGTON—The National Association of State Foresters elected Kirk Rowdabaugh, State Forester of Arizona, as its new president at the association’s 85th annual meeting in San Antonio, Texas.

Kirk Rowdabaugh became the State Forester of Arizona in 2001. Rowdabaugh is chair of the National Wildfire Coordinating Group and is past chair of the Council of Western State Foresters.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to lead NASF as president,” said Rowdabaugh. “State Foresters are dedicated to solving the many challenges facing our forests today. I encourage our partners to work closely with us to promote healthy, sustainable trees and forested ecosystems that are so vital to future generations,” he said.

NASF also elected Leah MacSwords, State Forester of Kentucky, as the association’s new vice president and Steven Koehn, State Forester of Maryland, as its new treasurer.

Media Contact: Sarah McCreary at or 202-624-5417

Accessibility Toolbar

Join us for the 2024 NASF Annual Meeting from September 23rd-26th in Providence, RI!