State foresters honor Congressman Collin Peterson

WASHINGTON—The National Association of State Foresters (NASF) is honoring Collin Peterson, chairman of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture, with the 2007 Bernard L. Orell Award for Partnership. The award is named in memory of Bernard L. Orell (1914-1983), State Forester of Washington from 1949-1953, and recognizes members of Congress that have made significant contributions to state and private forestry. It is NASF’s highest honor.

“Congressman Peterson has worked diligently over the past year to draft and champion a farm bill that is historic in its investment in private forestland,” said NASF President Kirk Rowdabaugh. The farm bill passed by the House of Representatives would expand the Environmental Quality Incentives Program and authorize $85 million in mandatory funding to the Healthy Forest Reserve Program.

America’s forests face dire threats from fragmentation, fire, insects, and disease, and NASF continues to work with its partners in Congress to ensure that private forestlands remain a productive part of the American landscape.

“For his work and commitment to keeping forests forested, Chairman Peterson deserves the appreciation of the National Association of State Foresters and the broader forestry community,” said Rowdabaugh.

Peterson will be presented the award at a special reception on December 11.

Media Contact: Sarah McCreary at or 202-624-5417

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Accessibility Toolbar

WE'RE HIRING! NASF is hiring an in-house Grants & Contracts Manager.