Meet the 2021 Wildfire Mitigation Awardees

Nominate your wildfire mitigation hero for national recognition!

2022 Wildfire Mitigation AwardsThe Wildfire Mitigation Awards Committee is pleased to invite nominations for 2022 Wildfire Mitigation Awards.

Established in 2014, the national Wildfire Mitigation Awards program recognizes outstanding work and significant program impact in wildfire preparedness and mitigation. By honoring the achievements of awardees, the program sponsors seek to increase public recognition and awareness of the value of wildfire mitigation efforts.

The Wildfire Mitigation Awards are jointly sponsored by NASF, the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), and the USDA Forest Service. The program includes three awards: (1) the National Wildfire Mitigation Award, (2) the National Mitigation Hero Award, and (3) the Wildfire Mitigation Legacy Award.

Effective community fire adaptation efforts can take many shapes. Creating a local mitigation coalition, implementing community wildfire protection plans, conducting community-wide assessments, promoting defensible space and home hardening, treating for hazardous fuels, and engaging fire departments and building code officials to reduce wildfire risk are ALL great examples of wildfire mitigation work.

You can submit a nomination and view the nomination guidelines and selection criteria here on NASF’s website. All nominations for 2022 Wildfire Mitigation Awards must adhere to this criteria and be submitted to this online form by Friday, November 12, 2021. To meet past Wildfire Mitigation Awardees, go to or click the graphic below to meet 2021 winners Marshall Turbeville, Courtney Hayes, and Jessica Kirby.

Meet the 2021 Wildfire Mitigation Awardees

Accessibility Toolbar