Wildfire Mitigation Awards

Wildfire Mitigation Awards LogoThe Wildfire Mitigation Awards (WMAs) are the highest national honor one can receive for outstanding work and significant program impact in wildfire preparedness and mitigation. The program was established in 2014 by the National Association of State Foresters (NASF), the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), and the USDA Forest Service (USFS) in response to an overwhelming number of great wildfire mitigation program efforts happening across the United States.

All nominations for the 2024 Wildfire Mitigation Awards must adhere to this criteria and be submitted to this online form by December 17, 2023.

This year, WMA partners will cover the cost of travel, hotels, and registration for 2024 awardees to attend the in-person awards ceremony at the 2024 Wildland-Urban Interface Conference in Reno, Nevada.

Submit Nominations Here!


Wildfire Mitigation Awards four cosponsors logosPast awardees, both individuals and organizations, have displayed outstanding dedication to wildfire mitigation across a broad spectrum of activities. Meet past Wildfire Mitigation Awardees with the links below.

Press Releases

Awardee Profiles


Contact Lauren Holtzclaw, IAFC Wildfire Programs Division Analyst at lholtzclaw@iafc.org or 571-606-5543.

Having trouble opening PDFs? Download Adobe Reader here.

Accessibility Toolbar