July 12, 2016

Support the Timber Innovation Act

The United States Senate, led by Sens. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) and Mike Crapo (R-ID) have introduced the Timber Innovation Act (S. 2892). A House companion bill, H.R. 5628, has also been introduced and was led by Reps. Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Glenn "GT" Thompson (R-PA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA) and Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA). Both bills would: Establish [read more]

April 27, 2016

Senate Committee Highlights Nanocellulose Technology

Nanocellulose was in the spotlight during a recent Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee hearing. U.S. Senator Angus King (I-Maine) highlighted work done at the University of Maine to support the forest economy and biobased industries, and emphasized the need for research and development institutions across the country to work together in support of American manufacturing [read more]

April 21, 2016

Working Forests Caucus Convenes on Capitol Hill

By: Jessica Hernandez On Wednesday April 20th, Congressman Bruce Westerman (R-Arkansas) and a bipartisan group of members of Congress launched the Working Forests Caucus. The caucus, which is co-chaired by Rep. Westerman and charter members Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-Washington), Sanford Bishop (D-Georgia), and Collin Peterson (D-Minnesota) was created to promote the benefits of America’s working [read more]

January 13, 2014

Vermont State Forester named chair of panel

Steve Sinclair, State Forester for the Vermont Department of Forests, Parks and Recreation has been named chair of a new Independent Standards Review Panel (ISRP) by the American Tree Farm System System® (ATFS) which will be comprised of a body of 14 forest stakeholders.  The ISRP is charged with reviewing the American Forest Foundation (AFF)’s current [read more]

January 3, 2014

Secretary Vilsack names Softwood Lumber Board Members

Last month, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has appointed six members to serve on the Softwood Lumber Board. Each member will serve a three-year term. New appointments include manufacturers Charles W. Roady, Columbia Falls, Mont., and Danny White, Brewton, Ala., representing the U.S. West and South regions, respectively; and importer Don Kayne, BC, Canada, who will [read more]

Accessibility Toolbar

Save the Date! NASF 2023 Annual Meeting: September 18-21 / Baton Rouge, LA